When was the last time you felt really, truly lonely?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Cut Off.”

20150226_114225

Growing up I was never the popular kid in class. It was actually the other way around. I was the nerdy kid who was used as a punching bag by all of the other kids in my class. I felt pretty lonely throughout my high school years too and sure I had a few friends here and there, but I could never really be myself around them. I was cautious with what I said and done when we hung out and as a result I often came home feeling lonely and depressed.

You could say that I’m still feeling pretty lonely at this point in time, not physically but mentally. I have plenty of relatives who call me when my name pops into their heads and an awesome younger brother who is my best friend for life. I keep up with my old friends from high school on social networks such as Facebook and Twitter but it’s just not the same as talking to them in person.

Right now I’m focusing on becoming a better writer. I love to write and it’s the one thing which I truly love doing. I believe in myself but I have a feeling like everyone else does not. My parents were supportive up to a point but as time went on their perspective began to change and they started to feel like I could do a lot more in life than be a writer/video game/tech journalist. They’re shoving different ideas onto my doorstep with the hope that I’m going to change. But I don’t want to change I want to be the quirky, nerdy writer who writes the latest video game news or about technology or even my own novel one day.

This is the first time which I truly felt lonely and it’s not a great feeling. I know that my passion for writing will get me through this and hopefully my parents will finally see how much writing means to me.

Leave a Reply

