Music downloads decline as streaming services grow

spotify

Back in 2011 I was introduced to the iPod 4th generation. The iPod was a revolutionary device and it still is as it allowed for people to listen to their music during their daily commute to work or when partaking in physical activity. When I got the device I was eager to try it out, I was aware of the app store but the thing which I was dying to try out was the iTunes store.

The ability to download single tracks instead of buying the whole album was breathtaking at the time. I was never into the whole “download music illegally” as I strongly believe in supporting the artist. When I launched the music icon on my iPod I was welcomed by a nice empty library. After getting set up I quickly began scrolling through the iTunes store and purchasing random songs which sounded good for a few minutes. After a few days I was sick of the song and regretted making the purchase. A year later after realizing that half of my iTunes library was full of songs which I would never listen to again, I heard that a lot of music lovers like me were availing of a music service and that was Spotify. Spotify changed the whole game as I could now listen to any song by paying a small fee at the end of each month. I no longer had to worry about maxing out my credit card when there was a period of really good and must have songs.

In 2013 682.2 million digital track sales occurred and that number dropped by 13% in 2014. On the other hand on-demand audio and video streams went from 49,515.1 million in 2013 to 70,295.0 in 2014 which is a change of 42%.Considering how easy it is to listen to your favorite music as long as you have an internet connection makes it no surprise that on-demand services are becoming more popular with people all around the world. I for one am happy that I am one of the millions of users who has made the transition from purchasing music to listening to it from a streaming service.

Twitter: WordLoops

Source: 9TO5Mac

Leave a Reply

